Bruno-Kreisky-Preis für Verdienste um die Menschenrechte

The Bruno Kreisky Prize for Services to Human Rights was established in 1976 on the occasion of Bruno Kreisky’s 65th birthday and results from the fact that Bruno Kreisky refused to accept any personal gifts. The prize’s underlying capital was also raised with the support of companies and institutions that were not necessarily classified as having any affiliation with Austria’s Social Democratic party.

The prize is awarded every two years to honour individuals, groups, institutions or projects that have rendered outstanding services to human rights.

The winners are selected by the Board of Trustees of the Bruno Kreisky Foundation and by an international jury that has included Marion Countess Dönhoff, Willy Brandt, Olof Palme, Roland Dumas and son Peter Kreisky.

Bruno Kreisky Prize for Services to Human Rights – Laureates